Piotr Bein's blog = blog Piotra Beina

29/11/2016

Garden Railway Forum constipated on bankster “political” stuff

Filed under: Uncategorized — grypa666 @ 14:24

On November 30, 2016, I open a notification about new post on a thread:

gardenrailwayforum@gmail.com

Nov 26 at 10:12 AM

Hello,

You are receiving this email because you are watching the topic, “admin moves the threads around” at Garden Railway Forum. This topic has received a reply from “JMORG” since your last visit. You can use the following link to view the replies made, no more notifications will be sent until you visit the topic.
http://gardenrails.myfreeforum.org/viewtopic.php?p=121226#121226

I click to a vacuum:

Garden Railway Forum Forum Index

Information
 The topic or post you requested does not exist

I can’t log in, I’m no longer a member, all posts deleted — some being unique info in English for the less priviledged modeller, thousands of views, scores of praises… The trace is left only in others calling my name and quoting from Piotr Bein. In some of my threads, other members shared their neat stuff — gone with an emotional push of a button. How will the team clean THAT up? LOL

As with the other forum, the cowards have e-annihilated me🙂 because they fell too deep into own rubbish and are unable to justify their decision. No official email with the reason for dismissal while remaining top secret obvious to anyone who has followed the threads.

Missing below is (now deleted) my “Off Topic” reply re antibiotics losing effectiveness, as germs smarter up faster than the Big Pharma that “develops” them. One discussant wanted life-threatening cases exempted from antibiotic bans, because he has been such case. “You’ve been spared at the cost of my grand-kids…” — I replied, asking why talk antibiotics when tens of millions annually get ill/die of GMO, cancer “treatment”, purposefully wrong/fatal medication and medical malpractice, ionising and electromagnetic radiation, unending wars and revolutions, poisoned water, food and air… all caused by the same bankster cabal.

The chief moderator for years on serious fora (DU-Watch, Grypa666) in times of major  threats to humanity from the same source that the moderators disliked my mentions of, I followed the netiquette. In their replies they featured:

  • stupid car (what will Toyota say to this? LOL),
  • limits to freedom of speech (as if my topics that they claim to be offenders, have infringed on that!), and
  • moderator “immunity” (i.e. autocracy, incl. mowing down a critic who insists on proper conduct of their duties)…

At the same time, they were:

  • singling me out for political content (as they admit in the thread LOL)
  • violating forum’s rule (ban of commercial advertising in a thread outside “For Sale” dept )
  • disregarding the scope of “Help Me!” dept when my car got stuck in mud when needed for errands related to modelling activities that I specified upfront
  • despite my repeated requests, ignoring an-out-of-context, slanderous suggestion posted by the forum’s  veteran🙂 in revenge for my disliking his favourite figurines.

Why not write, e.g.

The moderator team, with overwhelming sigh of relief  from the usual majority members [see below LOL] have decided  that you are persona non grata on our forum. Thank you for your contributions which we have just trashed — all of them, even the non-politicos and 100% on topic, because the majority here don’t give a damn about whatever RRRevolutionary contributions you may have for our hobby, since it’s OUR hobby, garbage-free and politically sanitized.

Signed — moderator team “We the Forum”

They throw you out, clean up own dirt, pretending before a bunch of claquers that it’s yours.There are great people on that forum, not lemmings for sure, I e-befriended several… Why does the membership sit still in face of blatant irregularities by the moderators and some members?

Don’t take my word, read what follows, and judge for yourself. I’d like to hear your opinion. Please email it.

Piotr Bein

 ***    ***

November 29, 2016

Eventually moved to Off-Topic department with a hoopla, my original post in “Help Me!” department  adhered 100% to the topic specs:

New posts Help Me!
Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
Moderators laalratty, Mr. Bond of the DVLR, Big Jim

First the original post and exchange  that I’ve copied on Nov. 29, 2016, from the Off-Topic place on http://gardenrails.myfreeforum.org/

then my protestation.

SOS Help! Urgent! Emergency!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Garden Railway Forum Forum Index -> Off-Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 11:39 am    Post subject: SOS Help! Urgent! Emergency! Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

I can’t go pick up free junk for models and layout, materials to finish my basement workshop, fire wood (it’s getting cold even in Vancouver), possibly Excalibur scrollsaw 2nd hand tomorrow, deliver a case of beer to a guy who gave me and loaded onto my trailer 7 one-inch rubber mats (for the workshop floor and layout roads)…
My car is stuck in the backyard in soggy lawn, but you see it’s actually a r-way modeller emergency ))
One of the front wheels (Toyota front-wheel drive) has sunk/dug 3-4 inches (7-10 cm) into the muck, “lubricated” well in several attempts to move back and forth.
My plan after waiting thru a windy, dry (at last!) night: dig out to level exit of the sunken wheel, throw in some gravel, put geo-fabric and plastic deck planks for the wheel to roll out and  over a few feet of this instant swamp…
Any better ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
markoteal
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 18 Apr 2016
My Line: Castle Hill Light Railway
Posts: 46Location: South East
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To save you digging out a big hole – and depending how far the soggy area extends (and how big your jack is) – you could jack up that corner of the car, pack under the wheel with gravel or if you can jack up high enough, pop a plank across the gap and lower car onto a plank and drive off.

Sadly its too far to bring my Landy Defender to pull you out – i get regular practice over here!

Mark
_________________
Where did I put that uncoupler?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Then I move to South East or buy a jack…
Went ahead, dug out in front of both forward wheels, hammered in a plastic deck plank (stronger than wood) covered it with geo-fabric to reduce greasing with mud. Swang the carback and forth by an inch or two, but it grabbed the board and geo-fabric and pushed it back, getting stuck in new soggy depression.
Repeated the procedure, with more of the hard underlay w. geofabric on top under the offending wheel and a few feet on its soggy path. Only a plank and geofabric under the other wheel. No problem under rear wheels.
Swang again a few times… the car rolled forward no problem, leaving  slip marks on the grass (full torque).
Digging was not a problem, there is only 4-5 inches of soggy sod on hardpan underneath. It took a Plasticard modeller skills to cut the grass out from under the wheels and coffee stick experience to lay down the planks  
Thx, Mark for the advice and readiness to help if I lived over there
Had my method not worked, I’d buy a jack. But with civil engineering/gardening knowledge, modeller perseverance and retiree thrift, I managed to do it in 10 minutes w/o an hour’s trip to h/w store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Photo documentary, for future generations  
Patent pending
Rear wheels no problem, inconsequential sinking:
First attempt — soggy sod cut out, geo-fabric laid on plastic sheet to eliminate “greasing” with mud at the tire-ground contact; plastic plank put in (NOT hammered in) under tire:
First trial unsuccessful – front wheel grabbed plank and fabric,  pushed them backwards. Second trial. Cleaned up excess mud “lubricant”, hammered the plank under tire, covered with geo-fabric. Front wheel rolled out of the hole, but sank again in the mud forward:
Third and last trial 10 minutes from start. Dug out again, plank hammered in on top of geo-fabric. Hard surface to roll out of the soggiest sod:
Leftmost: the offending front wheels’ path looking forward, from first trial to the last one, plastic sheet and geo-fabric mangled before tires grabbed the longitudinal plank and rolled on the cross-planks out of the soggy area:
Looking back, the offending wheel’s path on the right. I kept my foot on the gas pedal, presuming  that higher speed means less downward pressure and faster exit from soggy area that begins at the plywood edge:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Probably old clothing/linen could be used instead of the geo-fabric (strangth and friction for tire) and plastic sheet (blocking mud from entering the tire-fabric contact surface).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
markoteal
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 18 Apr 2016
My Line: Castle Hill Light Railway
Posts: 46Location: South East
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well done – what about using the channels for an extension to your line – you’ve dug the cuttings already!
_________________
Where did I put that uncoupler?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Mark, negatory, the Boss does not allow any track on lawns

The curvature would not fit my track, either. I’m odd as I do my layout to suit available (cheap) track. Besides, crossing a bog would require stryrofoam sub-base for the track,
http://www.mansonvilleplastics.co…ansonville-plastics-products.html
as well as extensive soil stabilization and drainage works… Adjacent  eco-nut Fairyland would oppose touching the wet-after-rain-lands… Empire has more important things to worry about:
http://gardenrails.myfreeforum.org/ftopic10621-0-asc-45.php

I only got a few sq. m of Prairies when the Harmony Treaty was signed. Another place is the Larch Tunnel under the end of a lawn to make access to Little Mount Compost possible

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
markoteal
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 18 Apr 2016
My Line: Castle Hill Light Railway
Posts: 46Location: South East
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A tunnel – I’d love to see that in action!
_________________
Where did I put that uncoupler?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BaBBLR
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 20 May 2014
Posts: 81Location: North Yorkshire
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe an easier way for next time…

Link

_________________
Phil

If work is so great, how come they have to pay us to do it?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post

Mark, in due time I will show-case my tunnels.
This morning after rainy night I see what the problem is: no drainage from the soggy area, water to the brim of wheel depressions.
Remedy: dig a trench across, all the way to a slope nearby, throw in a drain pipe, refill with gravel. Works everywhere else on my acre.
My wife’s solution: plant raspberries in the soggy area, car will have to make a tighter curve. Hers was the idea with geo-fabric or clothing
I will go with her idea again — less work for me ))  Preparing beds for raspberries will remove the sod, clearing way for natural drainage down the slope.
The board on the wheel is ingenious — conversion of car to a tank

***    ***    ***

Subsequent discussion, my latest reaction first

 

Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 84Location: Canada
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post Delete this post

I beg your pardon, Barry and co-moderators…
“Help Me!
Do you have a problem? Here is the place to appeal for help
Moderators laalratty, Mr. Bond of the DVLR, Big Jim”
The thread is multiple times related to railway modelling, as the original post says. You have not presented any rational basis for moving the original thread.”…moderators are supposed to act in a way that pleases most of the people most of the time and keeps good order and keeps the forum on topic for the benefit of all.”
The first part is nonsense: if the majority want upfront rules to be broken and one opposes, than he/she destroys good order? I’ve adhered to “Help Me!” specs, but somehow am the guilty.  Did you ask the few hundred viewers to “please most of the people most of the time”?

I judge your performance by what you have done regarding my cases, your past performance certainly does not justify unjust treatment. It’s not up to you to suggest what I should do next. Just do your job right, thank you! If I am the first to tell you that, somebody has to. It is a public forum, I see no warning that it’s ruled by whimsical moderators.

There was no reprimand when a vendor advertised where he should not. Are forum department specs and rules of behaviour fixed, or changeable every time a disgruntled member is “political” not to your liking? You are darn right! I demand that a moderator intervene in a slander of my good name on another topic. It may be stupid request to you, but I mean it: I’ve never advertised commercially on this forum, it’s a plain slander in the context of that “discussion” w. Peter Butler.

Just in case, as happened recently on another forum in a similar situation that left me w/o documentation, I am copying to my blog.

Author Message
laurence703
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:54 pm    Post subject:

Can we move this topic to the bin?

Moderators on here have always done a good job.

philipy
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:44 pm    Post subject:

Barry,
I totally agree with every word. Thank you.
sstjc
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:29 pm    Post subject:

If you look at the title of the forum it clearly says Garden Railway Forum. It does NOT say that its a forum for cars stuck in mud. Therefore your post is off-topic. The whole point of a moderator is someone who is apointed to manage the forum on behalf of the members. Therefore the moderator acts as he sees fit. This won’t always please everyone but the moderators are supposed to act in a way that pleases most of the people most of the time and keeps good order and keeps the forum on topic for the benefit of all.

The moderators of this forum have over the years shown themselves to have acted in an exemplary fashion and I support everything they have done.

You Piotr seem to be someone that has the ability to disagree with everyone. If you don’t like the way this forum is run I would suggest you remove yourself from it. This forum has over the years, as well as modelling garden railways in general seen some spirited debate but it rarely decends into comments from mebers demanding the moderators do this or that, indeed i’ve never seen such comments before. In fact neither you or anyone else of us is in any position to demand the moderators do anything.

I support the moderators 100% and really if you are only here to disagree with everyone and make stupid demands of the moderators I for one would rather you clear off and leave us in peace to enjoy our hobby without pictures of cars stuck in mud which have no Garden Railway value at all as far as I can see which is exactly why the moderators quite rightly moved them to ‘Off-Topic’.

In parting can I say that this is one of the best run and orderly forums I have ever been a member of and would like to take this oppertunity to thank the moderators for the work they put in on our behalf and the time they give to supporting this forum.
Best Regards
Barry

Piotr Bein
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:47 am    Post subject:

JMORG wrote:
I think it’s more of a case of keeping the forums on topic. Every forum has rules…
A prime example is 4chan; despite the fact that it considers freedom of speech without repercussions (hence why everyone is signed as Anonymous) its main selling point, it is still quite heavily moderated to ensure each topic is correct for each forum.
Unfortunately it’s just the nature of forums; freedom of speech does not really exist anymore…


Why was I ostricized for other people’s misbehaviour? I insist that a moderator clear it with the discussants… One ugly slander remains unaddressed; I request disciplining the offender, attaching a note to his post, w/o removing it.
Re car stuck in mud — exactly on the Help topic specified. Many reads, many would benefit, but not from a post tucked away.

JMORG
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:12 am    Post subject:

I think it’s more of a case of keeping the forums on topic. Every forum has rules…
A prime example is 4chan; despite the fact that it considers freedom of speech without repercussions (hence why everyone is signed as Anonymous) its main selling point, it is still quite heavily moderated to ensure each topic is correct for each forum.
Unfortunately it’s just the nature of forums; freedom of speech does not really exist anymore…
Piotr Bein
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:19 am    Post subject: admin moves the threads around

My Help! thread, most relevant to modelling (car stuck in mud in time of urgent errands around modelling), has been moved here. There is no restriction specified upfront, how do I know where to post? Had I posted it here, I would hardly get any advice from fellow members.

TomTomGo has appropriately moved another thread to For Sale dept, but the hoopla accompanying the move focuses on my “political” contents rather than the true reason for doing so: commercialization (along business politics ) of the other thread by a vendor.
http://gardenrails.myfreeforum.org/ftopic10737-15.php
TomTomGo writes: “The forum does not cost me a penny to run as it is hosted by a free provider myfreeforun.org who generate their revenue through advertising on the hundreds of forums they host.”
So why in the last couple of days, at the top of the forum page, I’ve seen appeals to chip in for the cost of forum server?
I presented my own opinion (if it differs from “majority”, too bad for them LOL), debated misconceptions (politically grounded) that the other discussants have introduced, and also objected to an ad hominem slander.
The way the move and now closing of the thread has been done is a classical case of politics LOL https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Politics
On a social level of the forum, it’s disgusting to me…

If TomTomGo believes that merchant ads should be a free run on this forum, why not impose a fee each time they advertise as a forum member?

Another issue: is the admin sure the file w. our e-addresses is hacker-proof? Since joining this forum, I get email advertising for r-way modelling.

 

 

***    ***    ***    ***

The thread where I was slandered. It was eventually moved to “For Sale” department because a moderator found my (and other critiques?) too “political” as he says in the discussion. So the move was not for the basic rule regarding commercial activities on the forum… This is in a way confirmed above in hostile comments by a few moderators.

 

Black Friday // 50% off garden rail figures
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Garden Railway Forum Forum Index -> For Sale
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dean
Joined: 04 May 2016
Posts: 4Location: Huddersfield
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 5:16 am    Post subject: Black Friday // 50% off garden rail figures Reply with quote

I may be crazy, but hey I had some good news yesterday. And as it’s Black Friday, how would anyone feel about 50% off all garden rail miniature figures?

Head over to http://designscanprint3d.bigcartel.com/

Once you’ve added figures to the cart, head to the Checkout and use the code BLACK.

Enjoy


* PS the miniatures above we’re painted by a customer and all our figures are supplied in white.
_________________
Visit our website www.designscanprint3D.co.uk to view and buy our realistic miniature figures!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
philipy
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver

Winner of: Winter 2013 GRFPC
Joined: 30 Jan 2011
My Line: Elderbury & District Light Railway
Posts: 558Location: South Northants
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent offer, order placed, thank you.

…and I always swore that I wouldn’t get sucked in to the nonsensical Black Friday hype!!
_________________
Philip
www.tinyurl.com/philip-trains

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Keith S
Driver
Driver
Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 1287Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I’d always assumed “Black Friday” was an American tradition. Then it leaked into Canada, and I must say I’m pretty disappointed to see it catching on in Britain too.

I can’t think of a more cynical “holiday” than the “first Xmas shopping day after American thanksgiving” as it is, but all the more stupid when you consider that Canada and Britain don’t even celebrate “thanksgiving” (at least not on that day).

In Canada, “black Friday” is the 20th of February, and marks the cancellation of our home-made jet interceptor program and the subsequent total destruction of our aerospace industry.

But hey-ho, “Christmas” as traditionally celebrated, which goes from Dec.24th till January 6 or so, bears little to no resemblance to what I call “American retail Xmas” which is a consumer extravaganza starting in late November and ending at midnight, exactly, on “Boxing Day”.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dean
Joined: 04 May 2016
Posts: 4Location: Huddersfield
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Believe me I too am skeptical about Black Friday, and I could have made this offer any other time.

Unlike other retailers though, my discount is genuine, not something of lesser quality or standard. It’s my first time doing this, and it may be the last, depending on how it goes

Dean
_________________
Visit our website www.designscanprint3D.co.uk to view and buy our realistic miniature figures!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Keith, I’m with you.
Even at 50% off, the figurines are over-priced as they come unpainted.
Is blatant advertising allowed on this forum?
I lived in Denmark for a few years in 1970s. Sales (very good ones!) were AFTER Christmas.
Xmas is January 7 for Orthodox Christians, I celebrate twice: with my Catholic family, and again on Jan 7
Avro Canada CF-105 Arrow was so revolutionary that it threatened the powers-to-be and their CIA destroyed the project. I do not blame Americans, they are powerless, also in the consumerism, Hollywood, “medicine”, militarization and MSM — all hammered down their throats by the said powers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Joined: 09 Sep 2012
My Line: B.U.R.P.S
Posts: 1840Location: West Wales
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have bought your figures before and genuinely needed more so have taken advantage of your generous offer.
They are superior figures and have the most realistic poses (as you would expect!).  Even at the original price they are exceptionally good value and the extended (and increasing) range makes them most desirable.
Many thanks.
_________________
The best things in life are free…. so why am I doing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Peter Butler
Driver
Driver
Joined: 09 Sep 2012
My Line: B.U.R.P.S
Posts: 1840Location: West Wales
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Piotr Bein wrote:
Is blatant advertising allowed on this forum?

 

Apparently so according to your own link to ‘mansonvilleplastics’ which don’t even seem to have any connection with garden railway modelling!

As for unpainted figures, I much prefer to paint my own rather than have mass produced ones identical to all the others, or substandard ones painted by someone who has no care (or time) for detail.
_________________
The best things in life are free…. so why am I doing this?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Peter,
1. I neither set nor enforce the forum rules.
2. Where do I advertise here as a retailer?
You can buy and do whatever you want, I just expressed my personal opinion.
I don’t use unpainted figurines — my eyes are too weak to paint such detail.
Pic by Dean is illustrative of the setup: “business” people distanced from “working class”.
The modeller community is taken advantage of quite a bit because of their weak spot and passion… Thanks to “business people”.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laalratty
Director
Director

Winner of: Summer 2012 GRFPC, Winter 2012 GRFPC
Joined: 16 Jan 2008
My Line: Afonglas and Nant Llywyd Railway
Posts: 3845Location: Morecambe
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There has been nothing to stop people advertising in the past on here. All we ask is that it goes in the correct board, ie the For Sale one which this topic has now been moved to.
_________________
“What the hell is that?”
“It’s a model icebreaker sir.”
“It’s a bit big isn’t it?”
“It’s a full scale model sir…..”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Laalratty: So my reaction was appropriate, the salesman did not even bother to read website rules.
Why are we being asked to chip in for a server? Let the businesses pay for it.
Peter: my Q2 stands, I demand an explanation what you mean.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Soar Valley Light
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver
Joined: 08 Dec 2013
My Line: Soar Valley Light Railway
Posts: 669Location: North West Leicestershire
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Dean,

Peter’s recommendation is high praise indeed. Thanks for making such a generous offer.

I’ve had a look and your figures look very impressive and (in my humble opinion) are remarkably reasonable in price for something so good.

You’ve got my order!

All the best,

Andrew
_________________
“Smith! Why do you only come to work four days a week?
“’cause I can’t manage on three gaffer!”

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laurence703
Trainee Driver
Trainee Driver
Joined: 25 Nov 2011
My Line: Awchit & Cyder Railway
Posts: 772Location: Lost
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got myself scanned at the last Peterborough show and as such I now have a mini me… The detail on these figures is really good and this is a really good deal. Discount or not, they’re worth it.
_________________
No one expects the SPANISH ACQUISITION!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LNR
Fireman
Fireman
Joined: 26 Feb 2016
My Line: Leawarra Nayook Railway
Posts: 331Location: Australia
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Down here in Victoria Australia “Black Friday” is
remembered as the day in January 1939 when bush
fires burnt out nearly 2,000,000 hectares of land
and 36 people died.
One of the biggest bush fires in the world. Didn’t
realize there were other meanings to the term and
so wondered what this was all about.
Grant.
FWIW I didn’t think this was a political forum either,
yet I’m finding it so, recently!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sstjc
Fireman
Fireman
Joined: 22 Dec 2008
Posts: 429Location: Ashford Kent
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see no reason why blatant advertising if it is on-topic is not allowed. This is a good offer from a retailer that has had considerable interest since his appearance at peterborough. Why do some people, albeit only our Canadian friend as far as I can tell, have to complain about everything. If I had the skill to paint these figures i’d take advantage of this offer and why not.

As for black friday its becoming a non-event anyway. The deals are rarely that great. My TV is on its way out so i’ve been looking for several weeks and I thought i’d head to Currys on Black Friday to find most prices unchanged. Also from what i’ve seen on social media the shops have been quiet this year and one big retailer pulled out of any involvement. Seems a load of hype about nothing….

Good luck to you Dean and thank you for making this offer available to the forum members and I hope you will ignore the one person that feels they have to make a negative comment about your offer when there seems to be nothing negative about it at all.

Barry
_________________
www.5inchrail.com

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LNR
Fireman
Fireman
Joined: 26 Feb 2016
My Line: Leawarra Nayook Railway
Posts: 331Location: Australia
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As Barry has said, I don’t see anything wrong with advertising anything that will further our garden railways and benefit members of the forum.
I apologise to Dean if it is felt I sidetracked his great sale offer.
Grant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Piotr Bein
Cleaner
Cleaner
Joined: 14 Nov 2016
My Line: RRRailways
Posts: 83Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Edit/Delete this post

Grant (LNR): define political, and who do you believe is the offender?
You did not object to the breaking of rules re commercialization.
Peter: Painted or not, a mass produced figurine is just that: 3d scanner, digital re-scaling, 3d printer, mold, or similar industrial process that leaves the modeller an illusion of individuality when he grabs a paint brush… Otherwise it could not be offered at 5 pounds and 50% discount.
Your scratch builds are original, but no mass produced figurine would be. You want original figurines, make them from scratch, e.g.:
https://piotrbein.wordpress.com/2…/rrrailways-scratching-figurines/At recent fair, I got 25 German-made high quality people figurines for C$8, can “customize” them w. paint. That’s my retiree budget.  Overpricing cements the hobby for the well-to-do… I hear public’s remarks  fair after fair, see mothers trying to restrain kids, lest they would get infected with the hobby. At the going prices (and steady impoverishment of society, LNR  ), I don’t blame the parents for doing so.I wished the businesses became less greedy and exploitative (would it not raise the level of general happiness?).Dean: Could you please comment re pricing and exploitation of the modeller addiction? Other retailers’ discounts are also genuine, aren’t they? — I find your comment manipulative.
Years ago, Japanese cars were considered junk in N. America, now they are superior to US products at comparable prices. Your business may be doomed, e.g. the Chinese will emulate and under-price you…  Such is the bankster  policy, LNR, whether you ban “political” content or not ))Barry: 2 Canadians Why would you try to gang on this one? Still lots of common sense here, for which I love my chosen country… You are wrong: the advert was inappropriate for the original thread and was moved to the proper one because I made noise )))
You are not “we the forum”, I have the right to express negative opinion about products pushed. Why only good opinions?Re Black Friday: Merchants choose to advertise, as Dean did, fully knowing black exploitative aspect. In Poland (my place of birth), Black Friday has web and facebook pages. So it’s not just US, Canada and UK, and no shortage of idiotized demand from, sadly, the poorer part of society; in Poland, there was a stampede to buy, among other products, “leather” handbags at an outrageous $100 a pop:
http://wiadomosci.gazeta.pl/wiado…cili-sie-po-torebki-wittchen.html
A known “controversy” is production of sub-standard product batches for Black Friday. It’s not a one-day hype, either: in a h/w store today, I saw a poster: “Black Friday — Thursday thru Sunday” I have checked the brands featured: many are bankster controlled, as they control 80% of world’s corporations https://piotrbein.wordpress.com/2…snationals-run-the-world-economy/)
and some are on lists dating couple of yrs back  for boycotting Israel for genocide in occupied Palestine; the corporate take-overs have not ceased since…How’s that for political contents, LNR? )))) I have not caused the “controversy” here, did not brake any rules, reminded others that such exist, defended the interest of the poorer modellers, and justified my stance. Anything wrong with that and namely what?Interestingly, this debate proceeds in steps similar to those that have just happened on another forum, from which I’ve been banned since, w/o even the admin notifying me. I wonder what’s next after singling out LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Keith S
Driver
Driver
Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 1287Location: Canada
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I feel as though I should apologize- I LIKE Dean’s figures! I would happily pay the normal price for them.

I simply object to the “Black Friday” phenomenon in general. There are a lot of brilliant things our American relatives have brought to the fore that have made our lives better; their massive retail juggernaut is not one of them.

Barry, if it helps you, I am your “Canadian friend” but I’m also a citizen of the UK, so I can be your “English friend” too, if it helps you to accept my point of view!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom_tom_go
Chairman
Chairman
Joined: 22 Feb 2011
My Line: The Robin Wood Light Railway
Posts: 1455Location: Kent, UK
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have now locked this topic as it has gone completetly off-topic.

The forum does not cost me a penny to run as it is hosted by a free provider myfreeforun.org who generate their revenue through advertising on the hundreds of forums they host.

Advertising of a railway nature has always been allowed here as it promotes the hobby and because the forum is free to host we do not need to generate any revenue from commercial providers to cover hosting fees.

If you wish to discuss politics please use the ‘Off-topic’ section of the forum.

Now, back to the trains…

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. […] [about Nov 30, 2016, lemming moderators of the forum have maliciously destroyed all of my contributions] My first attempt at a ship couple of years ago was an elongated nut bowl made of wood. On top of […]

    Pingback by RRRailways — Ships, fire boat, fishing boats, huts from hulls | Piotr Bein's blog = blog Piotra Beina — 01/12/2016 @ 21:45

  2. […] a railway modeller forum that has kicked me out recently, I came across Peter Butler, an accomplished modeller who carefully chooses the architecture of […]

    Pingback by RRRailways: marketplace houses and canopy at Mirepoix, France | Piotr Bein's blog = blog Piotra Beina — 03/12/2016 @ 00:12

  3. […] [en] Garden Railway Forum constipated on bankster “political” stuff […]

    Pingback by RRRailways — list of articles / Lista artykułów | Piotr Bein's blog = blog Piotra Beina — 03/12/2016 @ 05:07


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

